Posts Tagged ‘award winners’

2014 ALSC Media Awards

Saturday, February 1st, 2014

The American Library Association and the Association for Library Services to Children announced the winners of the Caldecott, Newbery, and other prestigious awards.  Check out the winners here:

I’m so excited that Flora and the Flamingo received an honor!

ALA Youth Media Awards

Monday, January 28th, 2013

The ALA Youth Media Awards were announced this morning!  It is always so exciting to see which books were chosen as the best of the best.  This award announcement is like the Oscars to Children and Young Adult Librarians!

One of my favorites from this past year, The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate, took the Newbery Award!  Also, a favorite picture book, Extra Yarn illustrated by Jon Klassen and written by Mac Barnett, took one of the Caldecott honors!

For a complete list of the winners, check out the ALA website here. Newberry Winner Caldecott Winner

ALA Youth Media Awards

Tuesday, December 18th, 2012

I am so excited!  The ALA (American Library Association) Youth Media Awards will be announced January 28th!

This is when the Newbery and Caldecott awards, among many others, are announced.

I know I have some favorites in mind that I am hoping will win (I’ll share them over the next few weeks).  Have you read any books over the last year that you think are in consideration for the awards?

To learn more about the awards that will be presented, along with the criteria for each award, check out this website.

ALA Youth Media Awards

Tuesday, January 24th, 2012

The American Library Association announced the winners of the Youth Media Awards 2012 this morning.  It was so exciting to see who won!  For a complete list of winners, click here.

Newbery and Caldecott Winners

Tuesday, January 18th, 2011

Did you hear who the winners are?  The Newbery and Caldecott Winners, that is!

The Newbery Medal went to Moon Over Manifest written by Clare Vanderpool.  The Newbery Honor Books are Turtle in Paradise written by Jennifer L. Holm, Heart of a Samurai written by Margi Preus, Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night written by Joyce Sidman, and One Crazy Summer written by Rita Williams-Garcia.

The Caldecott Medal went to A Sick Day for Amos McGee illustrated by Erin E. Stead and written by Philip C. Stead.  The Caldecott Honor Books are Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Laban Carrick Hill, and Interrupting Chicken illustrated and written by David Ezra Stein.

For a list of the other 2011 Award Winners from the ALA/ALSC (Association for Library Service to Children), check here!

Spring Break

Friday, March 26th, 2010

Looking for something to do over Spring Break?  Check out what the library has to offer!

2010 Award Winners

Tuesday, January 19th, 2010

The winners have been named for the Newbery, Caldecott, Geisel, and many more!

Click here to see a list of the winners announced by the ALSC (Association for Library Services to Children), a division of the American Library Association.

Children’s Chatter

Friday, January 8th, 2010

The Children’s Department blog shares its name with the Children’s Department newsletter.  Just out is the Winter 2010 edition of our newsletter.  This is a wonderful resource for all things library.   Find out about upcoming events, new award winners, and library programming along with helpful suggestions for reading with children. 

The newsletter can be picked up at the Children’s Department desk, find it on our website in the kids’ room or click here.